Photo Gallery

The Tour Report
file

January 26 2013

1:25 PM

Play begins after 3-hour delay

LA JOLLA, Calif. -- The skies remain cloudy but the fog finally burned off as the third round of the Farmers Insurance Open got under way after a three-hour delay.

A light mist remains in the air but otherwise, conditions have improved considerably after roughly an inch of rain fell in the last 24 hours.

Tournament officials have decided to play the ball down in the third round. With the damp conditions, the South Course is sure to play longer than its normal 7,698 yards which puts six-time champion Tiger Woods even more in the driver's seat.

Woods, who takes a two-stroke lead into the final round, ranks first in driving distance this week and fourth in driving accuracy. He tees off No. 1 with Billy Horschel, who is second at 9 under, and Casey Wittenburg, who is another stroke behind, tied with eight others, at 3:40 p.m. ET (12:40 p.m. PT).

Sunset is expected at 8:15 p.m. ET (5:15 pm. PT).

Filed under:    
comments powered by Disqus