Photo Gallery

The Tour Report
file

January 22 2012

3:40 PM

Play resumes in the desert

LA QUINTA, Calif. – The winds were calm as the  third round of the Humana Challenge resumed at 7:27 a.m. PT (10:27 a.m. ET) Sunday under partly cloudy skies.

Play had been suspended at 1:13 p.m. PT (4:13 p.m. ET) on Saturday due to high winds that uprooted trees, blew over port-o-lets and forced the evacuation of hospitality tents. Only the pros returned to complete the third round and hopefully finish off the fourth by Sunday evening.

The field will be cut to the low 70 and ties at the end of the third round. The remaining players will tee off between 10 a.m.-12 p.m. OT (1-3 p.m. ET) in the fourth round.

Greg Norman, who had completed nine holes with President Bill Clinton on Saturday when play was halted, was among the players who withdrew. Norman opened with a 72 and shot 1 under in the second but he had just double-bogeyed the ninth hole to turn in 38 when play was called.

Other players who withdrew were Steve Elkington and Gavin Coles.

comments powered by Disqus