Nine members of The Presidents Cup teams qualified for Hyundai TOC

text size
Increase Text Size
Decrease Text Size
October 10, 2013
By PGA TOUR staff

KAPALUA, Hawaii – The Presidents Cup featured some of the best golfers from around the world last week, including nine winners from the 2013 PGA TOUR season, all of whom have qualified for the 2014 Hyundai Tournament of Champions.

Winners from the United States Team include Tiger Woods, Brandt Snedeker, Phil Mickelson, Matt Kuchar, Jason Dufner, Bill Haas, Zach Johnson and Jordan Spieth, and from the International Team, Adam Scott. All nine players have received an invitation to Maui when the Hyundai Tournament of Champions returns to the Plantation Course at Kapalua on Jan. 3-6, 2014.

Four members of the victorious United States Team were multiple winners on the PGA TOUR this season, including Woods, Snedeker, Mickelson and Kuchar. Woods collected five wins during the 2013 season, while Snedeker, Mickelson and Kuchar all had two victories. Haas, Johnson and Spieth each picked up one win during the season, totaling eight winners and 14 victories amongst the United States team.

Scott was the only member of the International Team that won on the PGA TOUR during the 2013 season, but he was another multiple winner on TOUR. Scott made history in April when he became the first Australian to win The Masters Tournament, and simultaneously punched his ticket to the 2014 Hyundai Tournament of Champions. His second win of the season came at the first event of the 2013 PGA TOUR Playoffs, The Barclays. 

Only six opportunities remain for players to qualify for the 2014 Hyundai Tournament of Champions: Open, Shriners Hospital for Children Open, CIMB Classic, World Gold Championships – HSBC Champions, The McGladrey Classic, OHL Classic at Mayakoba and the World Cup of Golf. Winners of each event are automatically qualified for the Jan. 3-6 event in Kapalua, Maui, Hawaii.

An important aspect of the Hyundai Tournament of Champions is the charitable giving associated with the event. Since 1999, the host organizations of the tournament have distributed more than $4.4 million to the Maui community. During Hyundai’s three years as title sponsor, its non-profit organization, Hyundai Hope on Wheels, has also donated $286,000 to the Kapi‘olani Medical Center for Women & Children. Last year, for the first time, Hope on Wheels hosted a 5K Run/Walk in conjunction with the tournament, with all proceeds benefiting the hospital. Another run is scheduled for 2014.

The Tournament of Champions was first played in 1953 at Las Vegas’ Desert Inn Country Club, and remained there until 1967, when it moved to Stardust Country Club. The “T of C” then moved to La Costa Country Club in Carlsbad, CA in 1969, where it remained until moving to Kapalua in 1999.

Dustin Johnson is the defending champion. All four competitive rounds will be broadcast on Golf Channel. Follow the tournament on Facebook at  and on Twitter @HyundaiTOC1 to get updates and a behind-the-scenes look at the tournament preparations.

Print This Story