PGATOUR.COM's top 30 players to watch for 2014

text size
Increase Text Size
Decrease Text Size
Chris Condon/PGA TOUR
Reigning FedExCup champion Henrik Stenson ranks high among our top 30 to watch.
December 29, 2013
By PGATOUR.COM staff

Once again, it's time for PGATOUR.COM to list its top players to watch for the upcoming year.

This is an annual feature for us each December, as our staff selects the players we think golf fans are most interested in following. It's not necessarily in the same order as the best players on TOUR, but generally speaking, winning and popularity go hand in hand.

However, there are two differences this time than in previous Decembers.

For one, the current season has already started, as we're six tournaments into the 2013-14 campaign. Thus, our focus is adjusted -- we're looking at the top players to watch in the 2014 calendar year as opposed to the 2014 season. A slight distinction, perhaps, but still worth noting.

The other difference? We've cut our list down to 30 players. In past years, we've listed the top 100 players to watch, but with the continual increase in depth on the PGA TOUR, we felt like we were leaving too many quality names out of the top 100. By reducing our list to the top 30, we're focusing on the notable players, players with a big following and/or big upside, and allows us to feature one a day for the entire month.

Of course, we still had to make some tough decisions on which players who made the list versus those who didn't. Our readers will certainly have their own lists, and we're more than happy to let your argue the merits of your favorite players. The Top 30 Players to Watch in 2014 is not an official list, so there's no right or wrong. But we love a good argument.

Starting Dec. 1, we'll begin the countdown with the No. 30 Player to Watch, rolling out a new name each day until we reach the No. 1 Player to Watch on Dec. 30.

Check back each day to see another player revealed in our top 30 countdown.

Top 30 Players to Watch for 2014
Reveal date Rank: Player Player profile Social Media
Sunday, Dec. 1 No. 30 Ernie Els Click for more  
Monday, Dec. 2 No. 29 Hideki Matsuyama
Click for more  
Tuesday, Dec. 3 No. 28 Bill Haas
Click for more
Wednesday, Dec. 4 No. 27 Graham DeLaet
Click for more  
Thursday, Dec. 5 No. 26 Charl Schwartzel Click for more     
Friday, Dec. 6 No. 25 Sergio Garcia Click for more 
Saturday, Dec. 7 No. 24 Lee Westwood
Click for more
Sunday, Dec. 8 No. 23 Luke Donald
Click for more  
Monday, Dec. 9 No. 22 Graeme McDowell
Click for more  
Tuesday, Dec. 10 No. 21 Billy Horschel Click for more   
Wednesday, Dec. 11 No. 20 Bubba Watson
Click for more    
Thursday, Dec. 12 No. 19 Hunter Mahan Click for more    
Friday, Dec. 13
No. 18 Zach Johnson Click for more   
Saturday, Dec. 14
No. 17 Rickie Fowler
Click for more  
Sunday, Dec. 15
No. 16 Jim Furyk
Click for more
Monday, Dec. 16
No. 15 Steve Stricker
Click for more    
Tuesday, Dec. 17
No. 14 Dustin Johnson
Click for more  
Wednesday, Dec. 18
No. 13 Jason Day Click for more   
Thursday, Dec. 19
No. 12 Brandt Snedeker
Click for more
Friday, Dec. 20
No. 11 Webb Simpson
Click for more
Saturday, Dec. 21
No. 10 Matt Kuchar
Click for more  
Sunday, Dec. 22
No. 9 Keegan Bradley
Click for more  
Monday, Dec. 23
No. 8 Henrik Stenson
Click for more  
Tuesday, Dec. 24
No. 7 Jason Dufner
Click for more  
Wednesday, Dec. 25
No. 6 Justin Rose
Click for more  
Thursday, Dec. 26
No. 5 Jordan Spieth
Click for more  
Friday, Dec. 27 No. 4 Rory McIlroy Click for more   
Saturday, Dec. 28 No. 3 Adam Scott
Click for more
Sunday, Dec. 29 No. 2 Phil Mickelson
Click for more  
Monday, Dec. 30 No. 1 Tiger Woods
Click for more    
Print This Story