Photo Gallery

The Tour Report
file
  • Noh assessed penalty for playing from wrong green

  • Noh was penalized two strokes after hitting a shot from the wrong putting green. (Ross Kinnaird/Getty Images) Noh was penalized two strokes after hitting a shot from the wrong putting green. (Ross Kinnaird/Getty Images)

PARAMUS, N.J. -- Seung-Yul Noh was assessed one of the more rare two-stroke penalties during Friday's second round of The Barclays after playing his second shot on the 11th hole from the third green.

Noh hit his tee shot so far right on the par 4 that it landed on the putting surface of the adjacent hole.

After waiting for the group on No. 3 to putt out, Noh hit his next shot from the green.

Under USGA Rule 25-3, if a player's ball is on a wrong putting green, he must take relief and drop within one club length not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief must also not be in a hazard or on a putting green.

Noh said that he was unaware of the rule and never called for an official but added that one was 20 or 30 yards away watching the events unfold. Noh's playing partners, Graeme McDowell and George McNeill, were not nearby and Noh's veteran caddie, David Brooker, who has been looping professionally for more than two decades, didn't seem to be aware of the rule, either.

After Noh hit his second shot official Brad Fabel, who couldn't tell from his position if Noh was on the green, informed him of the penalty once he realized Noh had indeed played a shot from the wrong putting surface. Instead of a bogey, Noh was given a 7 on the hole. He went on to shoot a 1-over 72 and is 2 under entering the weekend at Ridgewood.

"I've been out here 33 years," said Vice President of Rules and Competition Slugger White. "We have never seen this happen."

After Noh hit his shot, Noh's caddie retrieved the divot and tried to replace it but officials had to put a hole plug in the spot where Noh hit from.

Seung-Yul Noh assessed penalty for hitting off of wrong green at Barclays
  • Highlights

    Seung-Yul Noh assessed penalty for hitting off of wrong green at Barclays

Seung-Yul Noh assessed penalty for hitting off of wrong green at Barclays
  • Highlights

    Seung-Yul Noh assessed penalty for hitting off of wrong green at Barclays

comments powered by Disqus