Photo Gallery

The Tour Report
file

May 12 2013

6:30 PM

Interpretation issued on Woods' drop

PONTE VEDRA BEACH, Fla. -- Tiger Woods hit his tee shot on the 14th hole into the water that runs down the left side of the fairway. He took a drop, hit his third shot short of the green, chipped on and two-putted for a double bogey.

After conferring with THE PLAYERS Rules Committee, the PGA TOUR Communications Department issued the following:

"Without definitive evidence, the point where Woods' ball last crossed the lateral water hazard is determined through best judgement by Woods and his fellow competitor. If that point later proves to be a wrong point (through television or other means), the player is not penalized by Rule 26-1 given the fact that a competitor would risk incurring a penalty every time he makes an honest judgment as to the point where his ball last crosses a water-hazard margin and that judgment subsequently proves incorrect (Decision 26-1/17)."

comments powered by Disqus