It appears your browser may be outdated. For the best website experience, we recommend updating your browser.   learn more

Photo Gallery

Did you know you can save your preferences across all your digital devices and platforms simply by creating a profile? Would you like to get started?
Not right now
No, never ask again
    • JELD-WEN Tradition Fact Sheet

    Event Name: The JELD-WEN Tradition presented by Umpqua Bank

    Title Sponsor: JELD-WEN, inc.
    One of the world's leading manufacturers of reliable and energy efficient windows and doors. Based in Klamath Falls, Ore., began as small Oregon millwork plant in 1960 and has grown into a company with over 150 divisions and more than 20,000 employees worldwide.

    Presenting Sponsor: Umpqua Bank

    Sanctioning: Now in its 18th year, the Tradition is one of five major championships on the PGA TOUR's Champions Tour.

    Field Size: 78 players

    Eligibility: Top 31 available players from the final 2005 Champions Tour Official Money List, provided such players are 50th or higher on such List. The top 31 available players from the All-Time Money List as of the commitment deadline, not otherwise exempt, provided such players are (net) 70th or higher on such list. The top eight available players from the 2005 Champions Tour National Qualifying Tournament, in order of finish. Winner of co-sponsored or approved Champions Tour events (excluding team events) within the preceding 12 months. Winner of major championships on the Champions Tour (The Tradition, Senior PGA Championship, U.S. Senior Open, and the Ford Senior Players Championship) in the preceding five calendar years (2001 - 2005) and the current year.

    If still short of 78 players, the field will be filled by players in alternating order from the previous year's Champions Tour Official Money List (floor of 50) and the All-Time Money List (floor of net 70).

    NOTE: Winners of PGA TOUR major championships (not otherwise eligible) may be added to the field of 78 at the invitation of the tournament.

    Date: Aug. 21-27, 2006

    Site: The Reserve Vineyards & Golf Club, Aloha, Ore.

    Format: 72 holes, stroke play

    Defending Champion: Loren Roberts (273, 15-under par; $375,000 first prize)

    TV Coverage: To be announced.

    Purse: $2.5 million

    Economic Impact: $25-30 million

    Foundation Board: Mr. Henry H. Hewitt, chairman, Stoel Rives; Mr. Dick Woolworth, retired chairman & CEO, The Regence Group; Mr. Charlie Denson, president, Nike Brand, Nike; Mr. Peter Dempsey, vice president, JELD-WEN; Mr. Sam Porter, vice president & general counsel, JELD-WEN, Mr. Rod Wendt, president & CEO, JELD-WEN; Mr. Doug Kintzinger, executive vice president & CFO, JELD-WEN; Mr. Dave Edson, president, Umpqua Bank; Dr. Orcilia Forbes, trustee, Meyer Memorial Trust; Mr. Raymond P. Davis, president & CEO, Umpqua Bank; Mr. Tom Kaiser, vice president, Cardinal Glass.

    Charitable Proceeds: To support educational initiatives throughout the state of Oregon. Official charity partners: Boys & Girls Clubs of Metropolitan Portland, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Metropolitan Portland, Self Enhancement, Inc., and SMART-Start Making A Reader Today.

    Tournament History:
    The Tradition was founded by real estate developer Lyle Anderson in 1989 to honor the game's great champions. It was hosted by the Golf Club of Desert Mountain in Scottsdale, Ariz., a Lyle Anderson property, from 1989-2001 before moving to another Anderson property in 2002, nearby Superstition Mountain Golf and Country Club. Jack Nicklaus is the only four-time winner of the Lyle Anderson Trophy, awarded annually to the tournament champion.

    Tournament Management:
    Peter Jacobsen Productions, Inc.
    8700 S.W. Nimbus Ave., Suite B
    Beaverton, Ore. 97008-7119
    (503) 526-9331

    Schedule of Events and Ticket Information: Visit for updated information.

    Event Information: (503) 526-9331