Photo Gallery

Local Info

About Boca Raton

Detail Image
First settled in 1895, Boca Raton soon became a small agricultural community, continuing to produce winter vegetable crops through the 1940s. During the land boom of the 1920s, architect Addison Mizner initiated the tourism industry when he began work on the exclusive hotel that is today's Boca Raton Resort & Club. Boca Raton still proudly reflects Mizner's Spanish-Moorish building style. Incorporated as a municipality in 1925, Boca Raton's original Town Hall is an historic focal point for the city. In 1967, IBM located in Boca Raton, ushering an era of economic and business development that continues today.

Fast Facts:
Form of government:Council-Manager
Incorporated: 1925
Area: 29.94 sq. miles
Population: 86,396
Parks: 40
Park acreage: 1,497
Conservation acres: 384
Public beach miles: 4
Bike lane miles: 44
Pedestrian/bike trail miles: 31
Fire stations: 8
Libraries: 2
Universities: 3
Bond rating: AAA
Boca TV: channel 20
Boca radio: 1650 AM

Boca Raton Leadership

Mayor: Susan Haynie
Deputy Mayor: Constance Scott
Council Member and CRA Chairman: Scott Singer
Council Members: Michael Mullaugh and Robert Weinroth

Points of Interest

Detail Image
Arts & Culture
Boca Ballet Theatre: bocaballet.org
BR Historical Society & Museum: bocahistory.org
Boca Raton Museum of Art: bocamuseum.org
BR Philharmonic Symphonia: bocasymphonia.org
Boca Raton Singers: boaratonsingers.org
Caldwell Theater: caldwelltheatre.com
Centre for the Arts: centre4artsboca.com
Children's Museum: cmboca.org
Children's Science Explorium: scienceexplorium.org
Gumbo Limbo Nature Center: gumbolimbo.org
Harid Conservatory: harid.edu
Palm Beach International Film Festival: pbfilmfest.org
Sol Children's Theatre Troupe: solchildrentheatretroupe.org
Willow Theatre: willowtheatre.org

Entertainment
Boomers!: boomersparks.com
Mizner Park: miznerpark.com
Cinemark Palace 20 Theater: cinemark.com
Sunrise Cinemas: sunrisecinemas.com

Shopping
Mizner Park: miznerpark.com
Royal Palm Place: royalpalmplace.com
Shops at Boca Centre: bocacenter.com
Town Center Mall: simon.com

Hotels

Detail Image

Embassy Suites
661 NW 53rd Street
Boca Raton, FL 33487
561-368-5200

SpringHill Suites by Marriott
5130 NW 8th Avenue
Boca Raton, FL 33487
561-994-2107

TownePlace Suites
5110 NW 8th Avenue
Boca Raton, FL 33487
561-994-7232

Wyndham Garden Hotel
1950 Glades Rd
Boca Raton, FL 33431
561-994-8200